Subscribe via RSS

IAQA Hall of Fame Inducts Its First Members

 The Indoor Air Quality Association (IAQA) inducted the first group of industry pioneers into the IAQA Hall of Fame, a new recognition program launched March 18 at the association’s 17th Annual Meeting in Nashville, Tennessee. “The purpose of the Hall of Fame is bring recognition to individuals who have contributed to the advancement of the science, and public recognition, of the field of indoor air quality,” said Donald M. Weekes, CIH, CSP, IAQA Immediate Past President. Weekes served as master of ceremonies for the 2014 Hall of Fame Awards. “Candidates for the Hall of Fame should be individuals who, in the opinion of the IAQA President and the board of directors, have a considerable history, often unrecognized, of making significant contributions to the field of indoor air quality,” Weekes said in his opening remarks. The initial class of inductees included six individuals who have made significant contributions to the IAQ field, and were voted into the Hall of Fame unanimously by the IAQA Board of Directors. They are: Robert Baker – A three-term president of the IAQA, and a leader in ASHRAE where he sits on the Technology Council and serves as the ASHRAE representative to the Western HVAC Performance Alliance. He is co-chair of that organization’s Executive Committee. He is also an ASHRAE Fellow. In other ASHRAE work, Baker led the development of Standard 180, Inspection and Maintenance of Commercial Building HVAC Systems, and is Vice-Chair of Technical Committee 7.3, Operations and Maintenance Management. His advice is also sought by allied organizations and he is a member of the Restoration Industry Association Environmental Council and the IICRC S520 Consensus Body. Dr. Charlene Bayer – She spent 30 years at the Georgia Tech Research Institute, and was the first female Principal Research Scientist at GTRI, the highest research title attainable at GT. Her group was one of the early leaders in sick building and product emissions research. She has spent much of her career developing methodologies to detect indoor air contaminants at increasingly low levels of detection, primarily using a variety of mass spectral techniques. She has devoted much of her career into investigating the relationship between asthma and airborne exposures. Dr. Bayer led the research team and is co-inventor of the “Pocket Asthma Monitor”, a sensor array system weighing less than one-pound designed to be worn and measure personal exposures by asthmatics. Among her multiple research successes, she was a leader in the investigation into volatile organic compound (VOC) signatures to detect the presence of mold in indoor environments. She led a DOE-funded landmark study into the impact of humidity control and active ventilation on the indoor air quality in schools. Hal Levin – He has recently been the co-Chair of the ASHRAE 2013 IAQ Conference in Vancouver, BC, and was also the President of Indoor Air 2002 in Monterey, California, the premier IAQ research conference in the world. He also was the ISIAQ Vice President for Practice starting in 1997. He has chaired the ASHRAE Guideline 10, Interactions affecting the acceptability of the indoor environment. In 2013, he received the ASHRAE Distinguished Service Award. Levin is the Founder and Chair of the ASTM Subcommittee D.22.05 on Indoor air, originally known as Sampling and Analysis of Indoor Air. He conceived the construct of "Building ecology," which was first published in 1981. He was on the US EPA Steering Committee for the 1991 BASE Study, a study that continues to influence IAQ research to this day. In recent years, he has been helping to bring building science into the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation's Microbiology of the Built Environment program. He is also the primary author of the State of California Standard Practice for emissions testing, which is the basis for credits for most green building programs. Dr. Phil Morey – The fourth inductee was recently selected by the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) for the 2014 Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award, the first IAQ practitioner and researcher to ever receive this prestigious award. He is a Founding Member and Past Vice President for Practice of the International Society of Indoor Air Quality and Climate (ISIAQ). He was elected as a Member of the International Academy of Indoor Air Sciences in 1992. Dr. Morey was also elected a Fellow of the American Industrial Hygiene Association in 1997, and he received the Outstanding Service Award from Indoor Environmental Quality Committee of American Industrial Hygiene Association in June, 2008. He was one of the panelists for the first consensus mold remediation guideline, published by the New York Department of Health in 1993. Additionally, he served as an assistant editor of the 1999 American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists’ book, Bioaerosols: Assessment and Control. He also served as Section 4 Editor on Remediation and Control of the 2008 AIHA’s Recognition, Evaluation, and Control of Indoor Mold book. He also contributed as an author to the 2005 AIHA Field Guide for the Determination of Biological Contaminants in Environmental Samples. His presentations at numerous conferences throughout the world on mold and microbial contamination have been recognized as pioneering, groundbreaking and a lot of fun to hear. Tom Yacobellis – A two-time Past President of IAQA, and one of IAQA’s Founding Members. He recently served on the NADCA Committee that developed the new NADCA Standard, ‘Standard for Measuring Residential Dryer Exhaust Duct Performance’. Previously, he served as the Chair of the IESO Committee that developed the IESO-RIA 6001, Evaluation of HVAC/Mechanical System Surfaces to Determine the Impact from Fire Related Particulates. He has 25 years experience in the design, installation, and restoration of HVAC systems and 16 years specifically in the HVAC remediation industry. Yacobellis is responsible for developing the largest independent network of licensed HVAC contractors dedicated to total HVAC system remediation. He has been awarded the ASHRAE Research Recognition Award, and the RACCA Distinguished Service Award. Larry Robertson – The sixth and final Hall of Fame inductee for 2014 was a past president of IAQA and one of IAQA’s Founding Members and Board of Directors. He recently has served another term on the IAQA Board of Directors, and during that term, he served as the Chair of the Education Committee. He is a member of the Editorial Advisory Board for the IE Connections e-magazine. He served on the Texas Department of Health, Mold Task Force which was responsible for the development of rules and regulations regarding mold investigation and remediation. Robertson has written numerous articles for peer-reviewed publications on microbial contamination, indoor air quality, mold remediation, and sampling and analytical techniques for mold and bacteria. He has conducted presentations and educational sessions throughout the United States on duct cleaning, mold remediation, microbial contamination and indoor air quality. The Indoor Air Quality Association (IAQA) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to bringing practitioners together to prevent and solve indoor environmental problems for the benefit of customers and the public. IAQA was established in 1995 and is the nation’s largest IAQ trade association with over 2,600 members and 20 local chapters. To learn more about IAQA visit: - See more at:

Return to list