Subscribe via RSS

ASHRAE Recognizes Outstanding HVAC&R Industry Achievements

The F. Paul Anderson Award, the Society’s highest honor, is  awarded for notable achievement of outstanding services performed in the  HVAC&R field. The recipient is Presidential Member Kent Peterson, P.E.,  Fellow ASHRAE, ASHRAE-Certified Building Energy Assessment Professional.

The Hall of Fame, honors  deceased members of the Society who have made milestone contributions to the  growth of HVAC&R technology. The recipient is Fred Wolf Jr., who  contributed to the development of home refrigeration and played an active role  in mass-marketing one of the first simple, inexpensive household refrigerators,  the DOMELRE, in 1913.

Fellow ASHRAE is a membership grade that recognizes members who  have attained distinction and made substantial contributions in HVAC&R and  the built environment such as education, research, engineering design and  consulting, invention, engineer executive on significant projects,  publications, presentations and mentoring. The Society elevated 15 members to  the grade of Fellow ASHRAE:

  • Roberto Aguilo, P.E., is owner, Ing. Aguilo & Associates, Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • David Branson, P.E., is executive president and chief operations officer, Compliance Services Group, Lubbock, Texas
  • J. Steven Brown, Ph.D., P.E., is associate professor and associate dean of School of Engineering, The Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C.
  • Thomas Butcher, Ph.D., is deputy chair, Sustainable Energy Technologies Department, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, N.Y.
  • Stephen Duda, P.E., ASHRAE-Certified Building Energy Assessment, High-Performance Building and Healthcare Facility Design Professional, is assistant director of mechanical engineering, Ross & Baruzzini, St. Louis, Mo.
  • D.Y. (Yogi) Goswami, Ph.D., P.E., Life Member, is distinguished professor and director, Clean Energy Research Center, University of South Florida, Tampa, Fla.
  • Edison Guimaraes, P.E., Life Member, is engineering director, Datum Consultoria e Projetos, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
  • M. Dennis Knight, P.E., ASHRAE-Certified Building Energy Modeling Professional, is chief executive officer, Whole Buildings Systems, Mt. Pleasant, S.C.
  • Gerhard W. Knutson, Ph.D., Life Member, is president, Knutson Ventilation Consulting, Edina, Minn.
  • Chao-Hsin Lin, Ph.D., P.E., is technical fellow, Boeing Company, Redmond, Wash.
  • Richard Lord, is Carrier fellow, Climate Controls and Security Carrier Corp., a division of United Technologies, Hartford, Conn.
  • Paul C. Miclea, P.E., is retired and lives in Walnut Creek, Calif. 
  • Gregory F. Nellis, Ph.D., is Kaiser chaired professor, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wis.
  • Jianlei Niu, Ph.D., P.E., is professor, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • James K. Vallort, is senior vice president, ESD, Chicago, Ill.

The ASHRAE Technology Awards recognize outstanding achievements  by members who have successfully applied innovative building designs, which  incorporate ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and indoor air  quality. Six projects received first-place ASHRAE Technology Awards:

  • Peter Rumsey, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, Integral Group, Oakland, Calif., receives first place in the new commercial buildings category for the Packard Foundation Net Zero Energy Headquarters, Los Altos, Calif. The building is owned by the David and Lucile Packard Foundation. Rumsey also receives the Award of Engineering Excellence for their project. The recognition is given to the most outstanding project receiving a first-place Technology Award. It has only been awarded three other times, in 2000, 2005 and 2012.
  • David Budd, P.E., McKinstry, Seattle, Wash., receives first place in the existing commercial buildings category for the SIERR Building at McKinstry Station, Spokane, Wash. The building owner is Dean Allen.
  • Darren Dageforde, P.E., University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, receives first place in the new residential category for his home in Blair, Neb. He owns the residence with his wife, Karen.
  • Gheorghe Mihalache, Ph.D., P.Eng., Atis Technologies, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, receives first place in the existing industrial facilities or processes category for Fromagerie des Basques, Trois-Pistoles, Quebec. The building owner is Yves Pettigrew.
  • Stephen Hamstra, P.E., ASHRAE-Certified High-Performance Building Design Professional, Greensleeves LLC, Findlay, Ohio, receives first place in the new educational facilities category for the 300 Davis Street Building, The University of Findlay, Ohio. The building is owned by the university.
  • Stephanie Febles, CMTA Consulting Engineers, Lexington, Ky., receives first place in the new educational facilities category for the Locust Trace AgriScience Farm, Lexington, Ky. The building is owned by Fayette County Public Schools.

The ASHRAE Student Design Project Competition challenged teams  of students to create an integrated sustainable building design, select  HVAC&R systems or do HVAC system design calculations for a high rise  residential building, with retail space on the lower floors, in Dallas, Texas.  First place in HVAC System Design Calculations is awarded to Jayson Bursill,  Natasha Palmer, Angela Walton and Gavin Wong of the University of British  Columbia, Vancouver, Canada. First  place in HVAC System Selection is awarded to Garrett Elder, Nathan Love and  Nick Theimer of Kansas State University, Manhattan.  First place in  Integrated Sustainable Building Design is awarded to Jiayi Qiu, Dalin Si, Yukai  Wu, Zhongzhe Wu, Ruijun Zhang, Zhiang Zhang and Xuyang Zhong of University of  Nottingham, United Kingdom.

The 2013 Applied Engineering Challenge stipulated that students  design a refrigeration unit that could transport small essential cargo, such as  food or medicine.. First place is awarded to Brian Kaufman, Nick Leeburg, Xiao  Jun “Tony” Lin and Micah Reich of San Jose State University, Calif.

The Milton W. Garland Commemorative Refrigeration Award for  Project Excellencerecognizes innovative and/or new technologies in comfort  cooling applications and is awardedto Cameron E. Lowry, P.Eng., industrial  markets leader, Trane Canada, Burnaby, British Columbia.

The E.K. Campbell Award honors outstanding achievements by  engineering educators and is presented by the ASHRAE Life Members Club. The  recipient Jeffrey Spitler, Ph.D., P.E., Regents and C.M. Leonard professor,  Oklahoma State University, Stillwater.

The ASHRAE Award for Distinguished Public Service recognizes  ASHRAE members who have performed outstanding public service in their community  and, in doing so, have helped to improve the public image of the engineer. It  is awarded to Jeff Gatlin, P.E., vice president and co-owner, Thompson  Engineering, Memphis, Tenn.

A recent addition from ASHRAE,  the Pioneers of the Industry Award, honors deceased individuals who have made  milestone contributions to the growth of air conditioning, heating,  refrigeration and ventilations. The recipients are John Gorrie, 1802-1855, the  first American to use mechanical refrigeration for comfort cooling, and Alfred  R. Wolff, 1855-1909, a pioneering heating and ventilating engineer at the end  of the 19th century.

ASHRAE, founded in  1894, is a building technology society with more than 50,000 members worldwide.  The Society and its members focus on building systems, energy efficiency,  indoor air quality, refrigeration and sustainability. Through research,  standards writing, publishing, certification and continuing education, ASHRAE  shapes tomorrow’s built environment today.

Editors  Note: photographs of the awards ceremony are available upon request.

Return to list